One of Cardiff’s oldest parks which was first laid out and opened to the public by its owner, Charles Thompson, in 1891. This grade 2 listed park was originally known as Sir David’s Field and were enlarged and landscaped by Sir William Goldring in around 1895. In 1911, Mr Thompson gave the park to Cardiff Corporation.
This attractive park with its iconic water fountain is a popular but peaceful place to pass the time of day.
•Statue of ‘Joyance’ by Sir William Goscombe John
•Carved green man tree sculpture is located on the upper recreation field.
•Bowling green and pavilion
7.30am – 30 minutes before sunset.