Celebrating our fifth fabulous year in 2017, Cardiff Children’s Literature Festival will be bigger and better than ever!

After celebrating Dahl’s splendiferous City of the Unexpected, Cardiff is looking forward to more book-tastic fun. Celebrating our fifth fabulous year in 2017, Cardiff Children’s Literature Festival will be bigger and better than ever! Spread over two weekends, with events in both English and Welsh, the festival celebrates the very best in contemporary children’s books.

Authors and illustrators will be making their words and pictures come to life in iconic venues across the city, with amazing tales and performances featuring a cast of wonderful characters it’s ideal for all those who love children’s books.

Here are a few of the 50 events taking place between 25th March and the 2nd April:


 Gaslight: Explore the dark side of Victorian Cardiff with Eloise Williams
2nd April 2017 @ 2:00 pm
The Old Library, The Hayes Cardiff, CF10 1WE

Language – English

Set in Cardiff in 1899, Gaslight is a non-stop historical adventure with thrilling action, mystery and an irresistible heroine. Nansi is looking for her mother who has gone missing and her search takes her into the theatres and docks of Victorian Cardiff. Join actress and author Eloise Williams who will introduce you to the dark side of Victorian Cardiff in this fun and interactive event, which will appeal to fans of Hetty Feather and A Clockwork Sparrow.

Tickets cost £4 and are available here


 Forever Geek with Holly Smale
2nd April 2017 @ 12:00 pm
Reardon Smith Theatre, National Museum Cardiff, Cathays Park Cardiff, CF10 3NP

Language – English

Find out what the future holds for Harriet Manners and if she gets a happy ending when Holly Smale comes to our festival! Holly will talk about Forever Geek, the final book in her bestselling and award-winning Geek Girl series.

Supported by Harper Collins Children’s Books

Tickets cost £4 and are available here


 Hugless Douglas is back! with David Melling
25th March 2017 @ 12:00 pm
Reardon Smith Theatre, National Museum Cardiff, Cathays Park Cardiff, CF10 3NP

Language – English

David Melling’s Hugless Douglas books have sold over a million copies and been published in 26 languages. Here, one of the UK’s best-loved author-illustrators returns with the seventh humorous adventure in the series. Douglas is sure that food without honey just can’t be yummy. But will he be proved wrong? The perfect event for fussy eaters and budding bakers everywhere!

Supported by Hodder Children’s Books

Tickets cost £4 and are available here


 You’re A Bad Man, Mr Gum! With Andy Stanton
25th March 2017 @ 12:00 pm
Reardon Smith Theatre, National Museum Cardiff, Cathays Park Cardiff, CF10 3NP

Language – English

Mr Gum is a complete horror who hates children, animals and fun, not to mention corn on the cob. This book is about him, an angry fairy who lives in his bathtub, Jake the dog and a little girl called Polly. PLUS there are heroes and sweets and adventures and EVERYTHING. You’re a Bad Man, Mr Gum! is the first hilarious book in the internationally best-selling series by Andy Stanton, winning the Blue Peter Book Award (twice) and the Roald Dahl Funny Prize. Join Andy to celebrate the 10th anniversary of Mr Gum’s first publication.

Supported by Egmont Publishing

Tickets cost £4 and are available here


 Words and Pictures with Nick Sharratt
25th March 2017 @ 12:00 pm
Reardon Smith Theatre, National Museum Cardiff, Cathays Park Cardiff, CF10 3NP

Language – English

Nick Sharratt talks all about his first illustrated chapter book, The Cat and the King, as well as his other brilliant picture books. Nick’s illustrations are instantly recognisable – he’s famously illustrated all of Jacqueline Wilson’s books, among many others. With live drawing and the chance to ask Nick questions about being a bestselling author and illustrator!

Supported by Scholastic Children’s Books

Tickets cost £4 and are available here


  Anni Llŷn – Bardd Plant Cymru
25th March 2017 @ 12:00 pm
Reardon Smith Theatre, National Museum Cardiff, Cathays Park Cardiff, CF10 3NP

Language – Welsh

A fun filled workshop with Anni Llŷn, Bardd Plant Cymru. Anni will create hilarious rhymes through action packed activities and we can guarantee that there will be heaps of laughter and awesome rhyming.

Tickets cost £4 and are available here


 Family quiz
26th March 2017 @ 2:00 pm
City Hall, Ferrier Hall, Cathays Park Cardiff, CF10 3ND

Language – Welsh

Join Siân Lewis as she uses her recent published books, Pethau Mawr Pwysig and Atlas Lluniau Mawr to test your knowledge. Who will come out on top, the children or the adults?!

Tickets cost £4 and are available here


 Bilingual Street Art
1st April 2017 @ 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm
City Hall, Ferrier Hall, Cathays Park Cardiff, CF10 3ND

Language – Bilingual

A legendary bilingual party for all! Join rapper Rufus Mufasa and cartoonist Siôn Tomos Owen and illustrator Phil Morgan for an afternoon of rapping, laughing, drawing and creating. A bilingual session so all are welcomed!

Tickets cost £4 and are available here


 Huw Aaron
1st April 2017 @ 10:00 am – 11:00 am
Cardiff Story, Learning Suite, The Old Library, The Hayes Cardiff, CF10 1BH

Language – Bilingual

Huw Aaron is a bonkers comic writer and he wants a room full of bonkers kids to spend an hour and a half with him making silly cartoons, funny characters and awful jokes. Are you bonkers enough?!

Tickets cost £4 and are available here


 Build a character / Adeiladu cymeriad
1st April 2017 @ 1:00 pm
Stori Caerdydd, Ystafell Ddysgu

Language – Welsh

Manon Steffan Ros will read from her new novel Pluen (Y Lolfa). She will also use her characters as models to help you build their own character profiles. Manon is a prolific Welsh author of children’s novels and have won the Tir na n-Og award twice.

Tickets cost £4 and are available here


 CAA Cymru’s exciting adventures / Anturiaethau CAA Cymru
2nd April 2017 @ 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm
The Old Library, The Hayes Caerdydd, CF10 1WE

Language – Bilingual

Join CAA Cymru and surprise guests for our sensational story-time session! Step into the wonderful world of colourful characters from the ‘All Eyes and Ears’ series – such as superhero Dewi Dewr, Sali and her super space hopper, Cledwyn the pirate, and Myfanwy the campervan – as they embark on each of their adventures.

Tickets cost £4 and are available here


 Lucy and Rhodri Owen – Boo-a-bog in the Park
2nd April 2017 @ 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm
The Old Library, The Hayes Caerdydd, CF10 1WE

Language – Bilingual

Join Lucy and Rhodri Owen for a bilingual storytelling session. A familiar face on BBC Wales, Lucy presents the BBBC Wales News and popular consumer show, X-Ray while husband Rhodri is also a broadcaster and presents S4C’s Heno. Lucy’s first book Boo-a-bog in the Park is a beautiful, reassuring, rhyming story about a little boy called Tom who finds it difficult to make new friends. Rhodri Owen is the author of the Welsh adaptation, Bw-a-bog yn y Parc.

Tickets cost £4 and are available here