ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 • Your Cardiff Guide • VisitCardiff.com ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 • Your Cardiff Guide • VisitCardiff.com

Cricket World Cup

ICC CWC 2019


Held every four years the CWC is contested by 10 teams, the 8 top ranked sides in the world and two qualifiers. In the group stage, all the competing teams will play each other in a full round robin format with the top four teams, after 45 matches, progressing to the semi-finals. Those two semi-finals will be played at Old Trafford in Manchester and Edgbaston in Birmingham on 9 and 11 July respectively, while Lord’s will host the final on 14 July.

This will be the fifth time that Wales has co-hosted the competition with England, the previous events happening in 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999. Cardiff is no stranger to ICC cricket, having been a match venue for the last two editions of the ICC Champions Trophy, as well as that ICC Cricket World Cup match back in 1999.

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 continues Cardiff’s proud tradition of hosting major sporting events in the capital city of Wales, following on from such occasions as the Volvo Ocean Race 2018, Uefa Champions League Final 2017, Rugby World Cup 2015 and the Olympics in 2012.