Skip to main content

Cardiff Classical Concert Series


22 May 2022


St David's Hall, The Hayes, Cardiff CF10 1AH

Google map

Event Info

Tomáš Hanus conducts WNO Orchestra for its second concert at the Classical Cardiff series with a return of Smetana’s Ma Vlast. This time, in an exploration of the Czech countryside and its people, the programme opens with From Bohemia’s Woods and Fields, the tone poem which was originally composed to end the epic cycle.

Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No 2 has always been regarded as one of his most popular works. In addition to the well-loved, yet devastatingly soulful, Andante – one of the most recognisable tunes in the repertoire – the work is bookended by vivacious moments full of both style and fun.

Beethoven’s Symphony No 3 (Eroica) recalls the composer’s middle period and has become one of his most celebrated works. Synonymous with the start of the Romantic era, its dynamism and energy convey themes of struggle and triumph.