Skip to main content

International Concert Series with WNO Orchestra


26 Apr 2020


St David's Hall, The Hayes, Cardiff CF10 1AH

Google map

Event Info

David Adams (Leader of WNO Orchestra) is violin soloist for the final ICS concert of 2019/20

Dvořák Othello overture
Prokofiev Violin Concerto No 2 Op 63
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 4 Op 36

For our final performance at the 2019-2020 International Concert Series, Tomáš Hanus is joined by the Leader of WNO’s Orchestra, David Adams, in a programme that bursts into life with a dramatic overture, continues with a lyrical violin concerto and ends with a contrasting, memorable symphony. David Adams is well known to Cardiff audiences as Leader of WNO Orchestra, taking the role of Concertmaster for the Company’s regular New Year Viennese concerts, as well as teaching at Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama and his role as joint Artistic Director of Penarth Chamber Music Festival.

Shakespeare’s tragic tale of love, jealousy and betrayal are vividly realised in Dvořák’s Othello overture. Considered by the composer as one of his finest orchestral works, this highlights the tension and turbulence of Othello and Desdemona’s tragic relationship.

Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto, more conventional than his earlier works, brings soaring lyricism and ear catching instrumental colours, with the melody flowing gracefully though the three movements.

By contrast, Tchaikovsky’s 4th Symphony bursts into life with its memorable opening and will delight with its memorable tunes and imaginative scoring right the way through to its triumphant end. Dedicated to his best friend Nadezhda von Meck, Tchaikovsky described this piece as ‘a characterisation of the nature of fate’

Event Dates

26Apr - 15:00 International Concert Series with WNO Orchestra