Skip to main content

Welsh National Opera Orchestra


21 Nov 2021


St David's Hall, The Hayes, Cardiff CF10 1AH

Google map

Event Info

Tomáš Hanus conductor
Lukáš Vondráček piano

Smetana Šárka
Rachmaninov Piano Concerto No 2
Tchaikovsky Symphony No 6

WNO Orchestra returns to St David’s Hall this Autumn under the baton of Music Director Tomáš Hanus. Opening with the bold and energetic third poem from Smetana’s Ma Vlast ‘Šárka’, the Orchestra dives into a sound world depicting a story of heroism, drama, love, revenge and death. Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto No 2 is one of his most enduringly loved pieces, with its range of beautiful melodies, virtuosity, lyricism and bursts of pure emotion, no piece better epitomises the Romantic style. Tchaikovsky’s final completed symphony, No 6 (Pathetique), again spans the extremes of the emotional spectrum, ranging from overwhelming drama to a lightness of touch that borders on frivolity, ultimately ending in devastation.